22Jun

Pearl Lowe's Vintage Craft Review & Giveaway

*Giveaway now closed*

I was more than happy to join Crafty Magazine’s blog tour of Pearl Lowe’s new book Vintage Craft, not least because I had recently purchased it myself and had been drooling over the projects all week…

I really love Pearl Lowe’s style. I think because I love anything unique or with a story behind it and partly because I am a gypsy at heart too. I don’t like restrictions or following set rules and this is the way I like to craft. I am also a sucker for details, those small items that reflect who we are (or wish to be); a bunch of flowers in a vintage glass jug, a child’s picture book read a hundred times to sleepy children, an old cup and saucer that makes you wonder about the tea drinkers before you. That is what I love most about vintage and, to me, that is what this book is about.

If you love vintage that leans towards bohemian gothic you will love this book whether you craft or not. It’s packed full of beautiful snap shots of Pearl's home, tips on how to use vintage pieces and where/how to shop for vintage items.

As for the crafts, there is a great variety. The projects I most want to try include: handmade vintage style tiles, jewelry shadow box, screen printed wallpaper and I’d love to create an office in a wardrobe! But there are also lots of projects that could be created easily in an afternoon: candles, tea towel, apron, bunting and cushions.

pearllowe-bookreview

But what drew me to this book the most (and what I associate most with Pearl Lowe) was the vintage lace, beautiful brightly coloured lace. The book has a good few pages on tips for using and dying lace and I'd wanted to try it for a while so this gave me the perfect opportunity. 

I had a search around the charity shops for something I could experiment on and came across this round table cloth. It was slightly damaged in the middle but for 99p I thought it would be perfect. I purchased some Dylon (the type that goes in your washing machine) in Flamingo from a fabric store. I couldn’t really be sure what the cloth was made from but thought it was most likely cotton (polyester will not take dye).

I love the way it turned out, although the edging was obviously stitched in polyester, as this remained white – but I like the effect! The colour is stunning. I was quite nervous about using the dye in my machine but after a quick wipe around with some bleach and a high wash it was fine. (phew)

So here's the before:

pearllowe-bookreview1

And after, hanging in the sun:

pearllowe-bookreview2

pearllowe-bookreview3

And decorated with another project from the book ‘Bohemian herb planters’ some French lavender in a vintage trifle dish – love!

pearllowe-bookreview4

pearllowe-bookreview6

pearllowe-bookreview7

If you’d like to hear more about or see photos from the book then have a look at the other review posts from these gorgeous blogs:

Heart Handmade
Vintage Folly
Burkatron
Vintage Brighton

And if you’d like to be entered into a draw to win my spare copy of Pearl's book all you have to do is leave a comment below. This giveaway is open to UK residents only (sorry) and will be open until midnight 29th June 2013 when a winner will be picked using Random.org.

Bye for now. Em xx

Posted in Books, Crochet and Crafts

Comments (20)

  • mrsbrownmakes

    mrsbrownmakes

    22 June 2013 at 14:25 |
    I love the table cloth - I will be searching more thoroughly in charity shops form now on! Intrigued to see the 'office in a wardrobe', I wonder whether you could make a 'craft studio in a wardrobe'? x
  • gemma swain

    gemma swain

    22 June 2013 at 19:53 |
    the book sounds lovely! I've seen quite a bit about Pearl Lowe on Instagram and liked the sound of the book. we're moving in to our first home later this year so it'd be really nice to have some inspiration for giving it our own unique style.
  • Wendy

    Wendy

    23 June 2013 at 07:50 |
    Oh my, I've never seen my own sense of style summed up better than by that pink lace. I neeeed this book in my life!!!
  • claireabellemakes

    claireabellemakes

    23 June 2013 at 10:14 |
    I love the colour you have dyed the lace, super pretty!
  • Natalie Buckle

    Natalie Buckle

    23 June 2013 at 11:58 |
    That is such a great idea. I used to dye fabrics when I did textiles when I was younger, but always new calico. Such I great way of putting a unique personal spin on something vintage. The white edging works well too. Think I will be looking a little harder in my neighbourhood store this week :)
  • Doofas

    Doofas

    23 June 2013 at 14:12 |
    That is such a vibrant pink!
  • madebymim

    madebymim

    24 June 2013 at 07:17 |
    the table cloth looks beutiful, so vibrant ! i have used these dyes too but never on lace i definitely want to give it a go x
  • Jo

    Jo

    24 June 2013 at 11:07 |
    I love Pearl Lowe's style too so was super excited to hear about this book, I will certainly be putting it on my wish list. Your tablecloth turned out great, I think the white edging finishes it off nicely. X
  • Caroline

    Caroline

    24 June 2013 at 11:19 |
    I was just given a lace tablecloth and wanted to make a skirt from it....but in white looks erm debatable! Would love to have a go a turning it into a really vibrant colour to go over white or black underskirt.....would look fab! Would also like to see what other vintage tricks there are in the book xx
  • LH81

    LH81

    24 June 2013 at 15:20 |
    I love that moment when you find a charity shop gem to recycle! For me it was two vintage teacups last week which I am using to store my sewing 'bits and bobs'. The tablecloth idea is lovely and I am sure the book will have lots more great tips!
  • Helen

    Helen

    25 June 2013 at 08:08 |
    Ooh I love that idea- that pink is such a stunning colour. Been trying to find some dark blue lace for a dress - why didn't I think of dying it myself?!

    How was your washing machine after using the dye? I have recollections of my mum re-dying our sofa covers and needing a couple of empty washes after to get rid of it all (but that was 10+ years ago, so maybe they've come on a bit in that time).
    • Lululoves

      Lululoves

      25 June 2013 at 21:39 |
      The washing machine was fine but I could see traces of the pink around the rim, so I did have to wipe it around with bleach before I put it on an empty wash! I also made sure I did a dark was first before I trusted it with my whites. I would say to make sure your washing machine is spotless inside so that the dye has nothing to stick too. Em x
      • Helen

        Helen

        27 June 2013 at 08:24 |
        That's a good tip! Will give it a try.
  • Sadie

    Sadie

    25 June 2013 at 19:03 |
    I love using these old pieces of glass like sundae dishes and trifle dishes to do something fresh fun. The bright pink looks amazing!
  • Deb Hickman

    Deb Hickman

    25 June 2013 at 21:35 |
    Great job, love the colour. I keep flicking through this book at Waterstones, it had some great ideas, live her style. X
  • Sarah

    Sarah

    26 June 2013 at 13:52 |
    Oh I totally missed this .. Somehow. Love the colour of your table cloth! Sarah x
  • Mia Fergusson

    Mia Fergusson

    28 June 2013 at 21:28 |
    Id love to be entered to win the book please.
  • Sarah Wright

    Sarah Wright

    28 June 2013 at 22:11 |
    Wow your tablecloth has turned out beautifully!! I actually really like the effect of the stitching that has stayed white- it's cute x
  • Carly

    Carly

    29 June 2013 at 18:15 |
    Love your tablecloth, would love the book to inspire the interiors of my new home
  • Cheryl

    Cheryl

    30 June 2013 at 18:58 |
    I always say I was born in the wrong era, this book shows why. How gorgeous did that tablecloth turn out, love the lavender too :)

Leave a comment

You are commenting as guest. Optional login below.

Twitter

Emma Escott

RT @jk_rowling: A policeman died to protect parliamentary democracy. An MP fought to save his life. We grieve, we fight on. This is the cou…

by Emma Escott

bloglovin

instagram

Loves

Black Sheep Wools

Inside Crochet Magazine